Does organic food turn people into jerks? – NBC article

Portlandia (TV series)

Portlandia (TV series) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

‘If you want fruit platters, go to Safeway. We’re organic.’ I finally bought a small cake and some strawberries and then at the check stand, the guy was like ‘You didn’t bring your own bag? I need to charge you if you didn’t bring your own bag.’ It was like a ‘Portlandia skit.’ They were so snotty and arrogant.”

The above quote is from an NBC Today article that expresses the frustration that a consumer experienced when she visited a local farmer’s market. I must say that I recently had a similar experience. I asked if the merchant accepted credit cards because I was not carrying cash that afternoon. Rather than respond directly to me, she called out to her colleague,”She doesn’t have any money.” Suddenly the conversation shifted around me. I tried several times to reintroduce myself into the discussion about the produce and their business. However, I had become persona non-grata = not buying. Eye contact ceased until I was uncomfortable enough to step out of line. As I did, I strongly recommended to the  couple that they step into 2012 and mobile e-commerce. “Get a Square.” However, I won’t be returning to find out if they embrace the technology or not.

Would love to know if you have experienced food snobs during your visits to the local markets?

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

